Selling Used Books on Amazon.com

Hanging Stones Cover

Now out of print

Every time I sell one of Bob’s books I wrap it up to go, and think Why didn’t I read this first? Look how distinctive this one is. How many Appalachian-Stonehenge fantasy novels have you read?  None, you say? That’s what I thought.

I’m mailing it out today and I want to say a few good words here for selling on Amazon. I’ve tried selling books on eBay too, but with little success. Amazon takes what seems like a hefty commission, but the books stay listed until they sell, and the process is straightforward and professional. Not many books find an immediate buyer; I’ve recently sold a few that I listed on Amazon over a year ago. For a small seller like me, continuing an eBay listing that long gets expensive, and it’s far too much trouble.

The Hanging Stones back cover IMG_3145

A closer look at the cover art and copy.

Here’s what I like about the process of sorting books: I can stumble upon a great retro cover…

Retro Cover Homo Ludens 1968, Johan Huizinga IMG_2913

Homo Ludens (1968, when else?)

Poul Anderson dust jacket photo from Three Hearts and Three Lions IMG_1380

Poul Anderson (November 1926 – July 2001)

… or I can read bio’s like this one of Poul Anderson as a young Sci-Fi writer, here from Three Hearts and Three Lions (1953)  – and just look, his glasses are back in style. The dust jacket for his book Avatar (1978)  tells us he won a knighthood for prowess in medieval combat in the Society for Creative Anachronism. Note that this one tells us he was active in the Elves, Gnomes, and Little Men’s Science Fiction, Chowder, and Marching Society.

When this book sold I wrote a note to the buyer telling him how hard it was to part with. He must have thought me mad.

When sorting Bob’s books, I get to wonder: Where did he get this, and when, and why? What was he like back then? They’re not all science fiction. Here are some others recently found:

Errors of Observation and Their Treatment

The Structure of Scientific Revolutions

The Large Scale Structure of Space Time

God and Golem, Inc: A Comment on Certain Points Where Cybernetics Impinges on Religion

The Hobo, book coverAnd there’s The Hobo: the Sociology of the Homeless Man (1967). What was he doing with that? I sold it last November, but The Best Hobo Jokes is still available if you’re interested.

I sold 5 books last week — the best week I’ve had since I started in January 2012.  Yes, I still have boxes left to unpack, but the number diminishes. I enjoy looking through them, and book sorting is quite productive for a procrastination job (something I do when I should be doing something else). I make a little money, and the books get a good home. Does it get any better than that?

Three Hearts and Three Lions IMG_1376

One more look at Three Hearts…

2 thoughts on “Selling Used Books on Amazon.com

  1. I would have a hard time getting rid of those books too. I’m not a science fiction fan but that Appalachian-Stone Henge one looked cool.

Leave a Reply

