Accepting Help when Offered: a Painting Job Done

I started this blog at the first of the year, intending to use it to keep myself motivated and also to track progress in clearing out the house. Documenting the effort led me, for the first time, to formulate a list of rules for clean-up. By my second post I’d added a new rule – when friends offer to help, say yes. I’d been stuck in the mode of doing things by myself and hadn’t been able to unbend until I saw that list laid out.

Today’s post is a tribute to Sam for helping me with yet another project. And he didn’t just help, he got me started. “I’ll be off work Friday and available to help you,” he said. “Have something ready to work on.”

That put me on the spot. Help was on the way, and no moping or procrastinating allowed. First up: the basement steps. I’d had this project in mind for years but it looked so dreary that I just hadn’t been able to do it.

Here's the "before" picture of my grungy basement steps.

Here’s the “before” picture of my grungy basement steps.

One more good thing about painting this stairwell — I used up leftover paint from an upstairs room. Now there’s one less paint can to keep in the garage. Here’s Sam painting the ceiling. Does he have a halo or is that a trick of the light?

Sam painting the basement stairwell.

Sam painting the basement stairwell.

I did buy new paint for the steps. Once again I maintain that any painted floor should be the color of dust. It seemed a little dull when finished though, so for some pizzazz, I used leftover red front-door paint for the handrail. Here we are, looking up…

Painted basement stairwell, "after".

Painted basement stairwell, “after”.

Having help means more than just division of labor. It’s moral support, company, camaraderie, and salve for the spirit. Even a dreary task seems like fun, and this job certainly makes a trip to the basement much more palatable.

Do you have something you need to accept help with?

Related posts:

Rethinking the Rules  and Still Cleaning the Garage Utility Closet

17 thoughts on “Accepting Help when Offered: a Painting Job Done

  1. I noticed the dreary shot is pointed down and the new, improved shot is pointed up. So symbolic, Sandy. Very clever.

  2. Now you need some pictures on the wall! WELL DONE. As my step-Dad says (he’s 90) “We’re young, we can still learn”

Leave a Reply

