A Fixer-Upper, and the Weekly Photo Challenge: Abandoned

Can you tell what this is?

Rescued chair DSC_0947

Bob and I went for a walk one day, back when I lived in an apartment in Kansas City. There, in someone’s trash at the curb, sat a chair. “Hmm, nice chair,” I said, “Help me carry it home, OK?” We were just a few blocks from my place, so we grabbed it and scuttled back. Bob always approved of found furniture, or any kind of found object. Too much so, as there are several things still in my basement that I think he must have acquired that way. But my chair worked out pretty well. I gave it a coat of paint, then bought a scrap of discontinued upholstery material and recovered the seat.

It was a bit dark for proper photographing today, so I took the chair to the porch for this official portrait–

Abandoned chair rescued curbside in Kansas City.

Abandoned chair rescued curbside in Kansas City.

DSC_0946I no longer acquire abandoned furniture. I have enough trouble downsizing the amount of stuff I already have without getting more. One other reason I didn’t photograph this chair in situ is that it’s in a room that’s my staging area for stuff I’m getting ready to donate. I’ve made several trips to Salvation Army and Goodwill lately, and even took my first trip to the dump.

I’ve never been to the dump before, and only went as a last resort when I’d accumulated a load of things I couldn’t donate. The amazing (and sad) thing about the dump is: I saw several useful things there that should have been donated, not abandoned, not taken to the landfill.  There were some nice picture frames that, at another time of my life, I would have loaded up and taken home to refinish.

“When I look at old pieces I see what could be.”    — Nate Berkus, Things That Matter

Do you have any rescued furniture in your house?

See more of the ‘Weekly Photo Challenge: Abandoned’ here.

16 thoughts on “A Fixer-Upper, and the Weekly Photo Challenge: Abandoned

  1. Pingback: WPC Abandoned | Words 'n Pics...

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Humbly Abandoned | Humbled Pie

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: More Abandoned | Humbled Pie

  4. Almost all our furniture is “saved” from the side of the road or from friends and family throwing things out. I’m amazed that some friends will get rid of perfectly good furniture and buy all new when they move house to “match” the new house.
    I’ve never really bought things for the house new, with the exception of pillows and mattresses. I’ve never even bought a fridge – when I first moved out of home I found one by the side of the road, fixed up a few minor problems and I’ve had it ever since. A decade later it is still running ok! My husband and I bought our first ever new white goods 2 years ago when we invested in a washer and dryer before the baby arrived.

    • I love “saved” furniture too. I do have a couple of new things (my first ever sofa, 8 yrs old now), but most of my furniture is from family. That’s what is going to make it hard to choose what to keep when I’m ready to move to a smaller place. I hate to admit how old I was when I first had a dishwasher, washer, and dryer of my own. Now that I have them I do admit how nice it is to do laundry without loading it up and going out. What a great story about your fridge!

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Abandoned | Through the Eye of Bastet

  6. My favorite furniture is “rescued”. It has a story. Somebody else loved it before I did. Who were they and why did they send it away? One large ornately framed picture I did NOT rescue was a photograph of a sweet baby in a christening dress. Who was she and why was she not on somebody’s hallway or stairwell wall? Another woman ambled down the antique store aisle and spotted it. She asked me the same questions. She wondered, too. Where had she been? Why wasn’t she loved still? Good thing I’d left my check book at home that day! .

  7. There is an article in the Sunday, March 7 New York Times about end stage pathological hoarding that I think we should all read. The article is entitled: “Buried by his Past.”

Leave a Reply

