Storm Troopers, Hellebores, Downsizing my Yard Work, and the Weekly Photo Challenge: Spring

Work-wise, I prefer development over maintenance any day, so I thought that getting rid of the grass would really help me out. Come to find out, spring requires maintenance no matter what kind of yard you have.

On the bright side, here’s one of my new white hellebores with upward facing blooms.

Hellebore blooms

I’m eager for them to make babies and fill in the spots where I’ve cut the ivy back.

Going all-groundcover, no-grass helped me chip away at the store of lawn-related supplies in the basement. I gave away my leftover grass seed back when I gave up on keeping the lawn, but there were other supplies stored up from when Bob used to take care of it. I’m not sure why he had four spreaders, but  earlier this spring I donated two and recycled one.

What to do with the bags of fertilizer? — I’m using a cupful at a time to mix into the compost bins, to help speed up the process. With Sam’s help last summer, the entire mountain of raked-up leaves from the previous fall got worked into the bins just in time for the new mountain of leaves that came down last autumn. Next up: I unpacked a supply of tree-spikes and compost starter to use this year. I don’t know what to do with the old bag of lawn weed-treatment though. I’m not sure how it can safely be disposed of.  Any suggestions?

Now, as for what to do in the springtime besides clean up the house and yard? Why, travel of course.

Thawing out in New York in early March.

Thawing out in New York in early March — we’re looking out the window of the coffee shop in the Guggenheim.

Orchids at the Atlanta Botanical Garden.

Closer to home:  a little local touring to the Atlanta Botanical Garden.

Orchids at the Atlanta Botanical Garden.

Orchids at the Atlanta Botanical Garden (Isn’t this “radiant orchid”, the Pantone Color of the year for 2014?)

Oh, and one more thing… I know it’s a couple of days late for Star Wars day (May the 4th), but I hope the Fourth was with you.

Kilted Storm Troopers swing by a Dragon Con parade.

Kilted Storm Troopers swing by a Dragon Con parade.

How are you celebrating spring?

For more on the Weekly Photo Challenge: Spring, click here.

5 thoughts on “Storm Troopers, Hellebores, Downsizing my Yard Work, and the Weekly Photo Challenge: Spring

    • I can bring you some hellebore babies (the ‘classic’ kind) — they have a drooping bloom that comes out in Feb and is still out now. I cut off a lot of the old blooms this morning, before the seeds drop, so there wouldn’t be so many babies by the walkway out back. I need to transplant some or the walk gets too narrow. *sigh* I just spent 2 1/2 hours in the yard, trimming bushes and digging up others, and have much more to do.

  1. Pingback: Hellebores are Blooming, and the Weekly Photo Challenge: New | Hoarder Comes Clean

Leave a Reply

