Stairways, and the Weekly Photo Challenge: Descent

My logical choice for picturing descent would be the stairs to my basement – but I’ll branch out a bit instead. Here’s a steep and winding staircase from “Our Lord in the Attic” in Amsterdam.  Catholic Mass was outlawed in Amsterdam in the Alteration of 1578. The wealthy owner of this house built it in the 1660s with the entire top floor as a hidden Catholic Church, complete with resident Priest. In 1888 it was converted into a museum.

Steep and winding staircase, Our Lord in the Attic, Amsterdam

Staircase, Our Lord in the Attic, Amsterdam

We happened to walk by Our Lord in the Attic on the way to the Oude Kerk (Old Church) on the last morning of our trip, and happily had time to stop in on our way back. There wasn’t quite enough light for pictures but I tried anyway, mostly for documentation in case someone needed to explain “this is why Sandy fell headfirst trying to walk down the stairs — she’s not that awkward, it was just really steep”. But on the bright side I did make it safely down.

I was glad this next one had a railing.

Looking down a 17th Century staircase,  Our Lord in the Attic - Amsterdam

Sam’s standing at the bottom in case I need something to fall on. (that’s probably not a period fire extinguisher behind him)

Now, back to my basement. Despite my efforts it’s still a catch-all hold-all hoarder’s dream. But I’ve already posted my before/after basement stairway photos so instead I’ll include something I found not long ago. I was more than a little surprised to open a box and (eeeek!) see this…

Plastic Skull

Spooky, yes? Luckily, I quickly realized it’s plastic. By the way, it has a hinged jaw — nice touch.

I think that skull is a good candidate for my most unusual “What’s this doing in my basement” find.  Maybe I got overly dramatic with its portrait, but tonight is Halloween. The whole neighborhood is partying.  Here’s a little something we saw on our walk this evening…

Halloween - Skeleton Joyride

Halloween Joyride

They look like they’re having fun, whether they’re off toward the stairway to Heaven or a descent into Hell (or maybe just a descent into a neighbor’s basement, to be packed away until they can come out for another ride next Halloween).

 Do you have any skeletons in your closet? Or, how about skulls in your basement?

 

More on the Weekly Photo Challenge: Descent

8 thoughts on “Stairways, and the Weekly Photo Challenge: Descent

  1. I so appreciate your post. I loved the stairwells, but when I got to the Halloween part I realized it was dark outside and I had totally forgotten to go get Halloween candy! I was out of the house in a flash!

  2. what an interesting piece of information “Our Lord In The Attic” – I had never heard of that before. My brother-in-law is from the Netherlands, I’ll have to ask if he’s been there.
    Funny things you’re finding in your basement. Maybe you could gift your skull to the skeleton-joyriders family… one more thing gone.
    My basement emptying has taken a sudden stop due to some unexpected back issues. How I wish I had done this clearing out when I was more physically able to do so.

    • I’m sorry to hear you have back issues, I know that is NO fun, and would certainly make basement-diving difficult. Good idea on donating the skull. Last October I found and donated some of the spider decorations Bob used to get for me (big singing spiders!) but the skull has been sitting around unobtrusively for a couple of months now, and I forgot about him (her?) until I saw the skeletons. All the best on recovery from back problems — Sandy

Leave a Reply

