Goodbye Historic Tree, and the Weekly Photo Challenge: Weight(less)

We were starting out for a walk on a rainy day last August when I took this photo of Sam’s favorite tree. The canopy in the misty distance is (was) an Eastern Cottonwood on the corner of 7th and West Peachtree.

 Eastern Cottonwood at The Historic Academy of Medicine

Eastern Cottonwood at The Historic Academy of Medicine

Here’s the mighty trunk, with magnolia leaves in the foreground…

 Eastern Cottonwood at The Historic Academy of Medicine We admired it every time we passed. With pictures of a tree and a photo challenge “Weight(less)” asking to explore the effects of gravity, it’s no mystery where this is going. Last weekend when we walked by, the tree was gone. Trees that old and mighty seem like they’ll be here forever, and it was a shock to see not even a trace of it left, and nothing but a bed of pine straw in its place.

I found an article on the Georgia Tech website explaining that the trunk was splitting despite efforts to save the tree, and that it was being removed before limbs fell. How big was the tree? It’s described as “82-inch caliper” — that’s diameter. Here it is with Sam on a sunny day last June —

Eastern Cottonwood at The Historic Academy of Medicine And one more look up, before gravity had its way —

Eastern Cottonwood at The Historic Academy of Medicine I’d love to know how old the tree was. I hope there’ll soon be a young one it its place.

Do you have a favorite tree?

More on the Weekly Photo Challenge: Weight(less)

More on Georgia Tech’s efforts to save the tree

16 thoughts on “Goodbye Historic Tree, and the Weekly Photo Challenge: Weight(less)

  1. Pity the tree had to be taken away. Sounds like that was done so for the greater good. if left there, it could have crushed something or someone. I don’t have a favourite tree to be perfectly honest. However, sometimes I like to sit under a big tree in the warmer months and watch the world go by. There’s something cozy about sitting under branches and leaves 🙂

    • So good to hear from you, and I’m glad I checked on your blog, had missed your last update. On trees: you’re right about sitting in the shade and watching the world. As kids, we always loved to take old quilts or blankets out in the yard and park ourselves under a tree for hours — nothing like it. (here in my own yard though, they’re always being tricky about throwing me sticks or acorns!)

      • Oh yes. Back in the day when I was a kid, I loved having picnics under big trees with big branches and lots of leaves – they shielded my skin from the harsh Australian sun, and held of sunburn. And in the winter, often these trees look like massive skeletons. Quite a sight.

      • I love the tree-shadows when the leaves are off, was just looking at them this morning in the soft filtered light. Right now I’m being glad it’s 40 degrees here, just heard from the midwest that they have snow and -1 temps. Winter is pretty but not always kind.

  2. when I was a child, I had several favorite trees. My top favorite: In my parents’ front yard, a tree with perfect-level limbs for climbing allowed me a quiet space to climb into and sit for hours reading (a get-away from my six brothers/sisters). I remember that tree very fondly; recently I told my grandson about those memories & we’ve been searching for him a tree since then. We had all our trees trimmed last summer, and the tree-man cut off all the low limbs (which we weren’t expecting), so that created a dilemma for us. Two other favorite trees were both magnolia trees – one at each of my grandmothers’ homes. These were family favorites – cousins played underneath them, mothers brought the magnolia blooms into our homes to enjoy the beautiful fragrance, we made magnolia leaf hats to wear, and we all enjoyed the shade. My dad planted several magnolia trees at our house that brought their own ‘magic’ to our home over the years. Lastly, the loblolly pines that grow in the south. They grew wild in the woods & were our Christmas tree every year. My dad planted four in our side yard, that were later destroyed when my mother forgot to put the car into park & the car rolled down the hill and crashed into those four trees. Too bad for the trees, but GREAT story for all of us to tell about our mother & her driving!! (her driving included stories of neighbor’s mailbox destruction,another where she killed someone’s chicken when it ran into the road in front of her car, and others!) Thanks for this trip down memory lane; great memories!!

    • You have such fabulous stories! (love the chicken, love the magnolias) Maybe your grandson would like a rope or a swing. Your note reminded me that my dad made me a “trapeze” on a limb of our walnut tree, and that the walnut was also beloved for it’s … yes, walnuts — black walnuts. What a mess we used to make getting those walnuts hulled. Now I’m planning to dig out my grandma’s recipe for black walnut refrigerator cookies.

      • Thanks for your comments. I too remember the mess of hulling black walnuts, and the stained fingers for days afterwards. Hope your cookies are as delicious as you remember. We do have a tire swing on a tree; the tree-trimmers generously tied it to a higher/more secure limb when they were trimming the trees. It is a great place for grandson and his friends to play.

  3. I have several favorite trees. Some were planted in my mother’s yard when I was a small child. One of the Maple trees grew quickly and provided shade for the kitchen, the other for the living room. We have some great fiery red photos of both trees towering in the yard protecting everyone from the suns raze. Now both are gone, just like my parents. My sister had them removed because one fell on the house and the other she feared would do the same. The old Weeping Willow that provided shade and a playhouse is gone as well. When I lived with my ex-husband we had a tree in the back yard which I claimed as my own. I placed the swing under it and would spend hours swinging back and forth with my book after gardening or mowing. I miss that tree. We planted several while I was there, small saplings from a tree farm. Now they are strong and tall. Love all trees myself. Very nice blog!!

    • What a great comment! You reminded me of two things I hadn’t thought of in a while – one, the weeping willow in my friend’s yard, where we used to sit on quilts in the grass when we were grade school chums. And two – all the trees I planted at my last house, years ago, trees I loved so well I gave them names. I used to drive by when I was in that part of the country, just to see how they were doing. I haven’t done that in a while, must do that next trip. I love all trees too — thanks for commenting.

Leave a Reply

