Art Exhibitions, Found Objects, and the Weekly Photo Challenge: Repurpose

This is the kind of thing that makes it so hard for me to let things go.  If you have a lot of stuff, a project like these robots could be great fun. Instead of clearing up, I want to get sticky-fingered with every domino and tool and gear and key and blob and button I find.  These perky robot pals are from the gift shop at the American Folk Art Museum.

Robots, Museum of Folk Art, New York, NY

Robots,  don’t they look like they’re about to speak? — or pinch? American Folk Art Museum, New York, NY

Still in New York, at MOMA this time… at the 2016 Marcel Broodthayers Retrospective; this work is from a mixed-media room sized installation with the theme of “the relationship of war to comfort.”

Marcel Broodthayers, from Decor: a Conquest, mixed media, 1975.

Marcel Broodthayers, from Decor: a Conquest, mixed media, 1975.

Now if you’re downsizing, like me, something like this mobile might be a good way to repurpose your clothes hangars. Ready to clean out the closet? — make sculpture! And fabulous shadows play.

Man Ray. Obstruction, original 1920, Moderna Museet Edition, 1961 (13/15), Sixty Three Wood Coat Hangars

Man Ray. Obstruction, original 1920, Moderna Museet Edition, 1961 (13/15), Sixty Three Wood Coat Hangars

Got clogs? Here’s a musical instrument from Brussels…

Clog Fiddle - Jozef Laermans, Meerhout, Antwerp, 1969 (MIM: Musical Instruments Museum, Brussels Belgium)

Clog Fiddle – Jozef Laermans, Meerhout, Antwerp, 1969 (MIM: Musical Instruments Museum, Brussels Belgium)

And last, one from my own closet (recently donated to be repurposed by a quilting friend). Repurposing a quilt should get double points, since quilts are repurposed anyway. This was a flea-market find from years ago… (hard to let it go).

Crazy Quilt

Crazy Quilt – repurposing fabric scraps, corduroy and velveteen.

Do you have potential art materials in your closet?

More on the Weekly Photo Challenge: Repurpose

23 thoughts on “Art Exhibitions, Found Objects, and the Weekly Photo Challenge: Repurpose

  1. Great images for the challenge! I have just discovered a cheap source of Japanese obi; or kimono sashes, and am full of excitement at the possibilities they offer for repurposing — bags, cushion covers and wall hangings spring to mind. Cos I really need more stuff, right!

    • I have a vintage case of game boards and pieces that I’d dearly love to use for something. But then, I’ve even saved old scrabble sets (with missing pieces). I need to just let go. And quilts – I still have some throw pillows that my mother made from a different crazy-quilt I bought in a thrift store even longer ago. I’ve had them so long they’re fraying now, but can’t let go because she put extra embroidery on them.

      • I wish I lived next door!!! the fraying throw pillows could be turned into pages in textile books or little wall hangings. I’ve seen old game board pieces coated in silver as charms and other jewellery – collage, assemblage art – Scrabble sets are very ‘in’ – as collages for framed aphorisms – – oooooh gosh – I’m not helping am I !!!!!!! 😉

  2. Those robots are such a creative way of repurposing and recycling. And they ended up in a museum. There is always something charming about these kinds of robots. Each of them have a unique heart and a unique set of buttons. I have a lot of clothes in my closet. I think a lot of those clothes can be cut and chopped into something new. For instance, I’ve converted quite a few of my long jeans into shorts for this summer.

    • Yes! “A unique heart” – exactly. I couldn’t say it better. Closet-wise, I’m working on downsizing mine and now that you mention it, cut-offs from jeans could work for me too – maybe to capris instead of shorts (for a ‘woman-of-a-certain-age’). 😉

      • Earlier this morning at midnight I was going through my closet. Realised I had a bit too many cut-off jeans… I am sure you look good in shorts 🙂 I’ve tried snipping long sleeve shirts into T-shirts. They don’t work out the same as jean cut-offs, though 😀

      • I really need to work some more on editing my closet – now I’m thinking “midnight?” Well that might work for me, I would be more in a hurry to finish, might actually get it done! (can you ever have enough cut-off jeans? They can be used for many purposes… but then also good to share them as donations, always in demand)

      • Never enough of any kind of clothes. Never…! Because I was cleaning – editing, lol – my closet midnight on Friday/Saturday morning, I felt like I had the whole night ahead of me.

      • Now that reminds me of how I used to like to stay up all night. It seemed like there was more space to think, somehow, with most everyone else in town asleep — Now 1 or 1:30 is about my limit, not as much fun. Happy midnights to you!

Leave a Reply

