Brussels, Art Nouveau, Musical Instruments Museum, and the Weekly Photo Challenge: Atop

I’ve been downsizing travel books this week.  They’re some of the hardest to let go, maybe because I equate releasing a travel book with releasing the possibility of going back to a place I loved touring.  This week I listed Rick Steves’ Brussels, Bruges, Antwerp and Ghent on Amazon and it sold by the next morning. I love it that someone is going.

In honor of releasing books, I’ll post some photos from our 2015 trip to Belgium. That’s October 2015, in the days of innocence BB, Before Bombing.

On the first morning there, we walked up to the Musical Instruments Museum.

Brussels Belgium

Brussels, looking up the hill toward MIM, the Musical Instruments Museum…

Brussels Belgium, up the hill toward MIM, Musical Instruments Museum

It’s the one with a tower and a turret, on the left.

Brussels Belgium, MIM, Musical Instruments Museum

Art Nouveau splendor: MIM, Musical Instruments Museum

Art Nouveau splendor: Brussels Belgium, MIM, Musical Instruments MuseumNow that we’re here, we can go atop —

Art Nouveau: Brussels Belgium, MIM, Musical Instruments Museum

Here’s a view out from behind those Art Nouveau curves…

This Art Nouveau building was originally the “Old England” shops. It was designed by Paul Saintenoy, built in 1899.

View from atop: Brussels Belgium, MIM, Musical Instruments Museum

The view from atop MIM, Musical Instruments Museum

There’s a restaurant up top. Sam had the crème brûlée, and I became a person who takes pictures of our food.Crème brûlée at MIM, Brussels Musical Instruments Museum

Art Nouveau: Brussels Belgium, MIM, Musical Instruments Museum

More on MIM: gorgeous elevator and stairwell

Art Nouveau: Brussels Belgium, MIM, Musical Instruments Museum

Sam checks out the bagpipes… I’m still gaga over the architectural details.

Brussels Belgium, night view

What goes up must go back down the hill. This is a popular view… I love taking pictures of people taking pictures, especially when I can see their phone screens glowing…

Here’s the picture we all took from atop the steps —

Brussels Belgium tourist view

… and now it’s noon on a Wednesday, time for the next photo challenge. Why am I always late with the Weekly Photo Challenge?

More on the Weekly Photo Challenge: Atop

More on MIM, and panoramic photos of the interior

Save

7 thoughts on “Brussels, Art Nouveau, Musical Instruments Museum, and the Weekly Photo Challenge: Atop

    • Oh – I am feeling some envy of your journey (and wishing you a wonderful trip!) – I gave some travel books to the library too, but also sold some to Half Price Books. I’m hoping the books get to take more trips, and that I’ll make it to new places even if I don’t make it back to the places the books and I have been together. I’ve loved Belgium since trips in the 80s and finally got back in 2015. Sometimes it takes a while…happy travels to you.

  1. I too don’t like letting go of travel books or brochures that I’ve collected at places I’ve been. As you said, you might go back one day. But looking back at those travel and brochures, I’m reminded of what I’ve seen and it feels like I’ve taken away a part of that place, having bought a book about it over there. Love these photos of your trip to Belgium. Looked like you and Sam saw the sights 🙂

    On your previous post, LOL at you wanting the workers to pose. But I have to admit, that was good lighting falling over them 🙂

    • Hi Mabel – I’ve been traveling and just saw your comment (gone to NYC so I didn’t let go of any New York travel books!) Maybe the thing to do is go through some of our travel books and save the most memorable pages, or maybe scan them — just a thought. Thanks for looking at the photos; I cherish my memories of that trip. Also had to resist looking back through oldies for photos from my first trip to Belgium in the 80s, no wait, that was the second.

Leave a Reply

