Remodeling, Painting Paneling, and the Weekly photo Challenge: Delta

One of the biggest changes I made to this house started back in February, documented in this earlier post on remodeling (and chaos).  Here’s a “before” shot of the room behind the mysterious plastic drape in that post —

Dark Judges paneling - I called it the 'Morris Room'

Dark Judges paneling – I called it the ‘Morris Room’ and yes, I knew it was too cluttered, but never got around to styling the shelves before it was time to pack up.

Of course it’s nothing like a real (William) Morris Room, say the cafe at the V&A in London, but I can dream, can’t I?

The Real Morris Room Morris room, 1866 – 8. © Victoria and Albert Museum, London (from the V&A Museum website)

The Real Thing — Morris room, 1866 – 8. © Victoria and Albert Museum, London (photo from the V&A Museum website)

When we first moved in, Bob liked the dark paneling, and I didn’t mind it. Though I eventually came around to the idea of painting it to lighten the room, without help, I doubt I would have trusted anyone to do a good job on the painting. Now I’m indebted to my organizer/designer/Renaissance woman helper, Leigh, able to leap small buildings and boss around unruly contractors. Here’s the room on the way to getting emptied out.

Starting to pack up my "Morris Room"...

Starting to pack up my “Morris Room”…

The other side, with cut-out for the bar area

The other side, with the old cut-out for the bar area

Transition continues with painting, and the bar area gets enclosed —

Changes to the "Morris Room"

Changes to the “Morris Room” (I’m not a fan of the enclosure, but it’s done now).

Painting the "Morris Room"

Painting the “Morris Room” – almost ready for the floor.

Starting over in the Morris Room

Starting over …

Painted paneling - new Morris Room

Painted paneling, and restyling by Leigh – I suppose we shouldn’t keep calling it the “Morris Room”

Lighter, brighter, and with new cabinet hardware and an updated ceiling fixture…I’m hoping it’s enough to freshen up my vintage furniture.

There is one funny thing about all these changes. As each project gets completed, I feel a little thrill of recognition — as if somehow I knew all along this is what I would end up doing, and how it would turn out, even if I couldn’t have articulated it before. I’m hoping that means I’m on the right path.

How’d we do? Let me know what you think — about the room, that is, not about how I’m a day late on the Delta photo challenge.

More on the Weekly Photo Challenge: Delta

More on William Morris

16 thoughts on “Remodeling, Painting Paneling, and the Weekly photo Challenge: Delta

  1. Your room is beautiful. Bright and stylish. Great room for conversation or relaxing and reading a good book. It looks more spacious than before.

    • Did you notice the TV is no longer there? It is hidden away elsewhere. (but the original paneling was so dark that it’s a little hard to see it in the ‘before’ photo). Thanks for looking!

  2. What a transformation, Sandy. The room really has gotten more brighter, and looks much more spacious and airy. Plenty of light coming in too. Nice to see you went with wooden floorboards. They usually are less cold in the winter compared to tiles.

    • Thanks Mabel – part of the difference in light is seasonal, but the dark paneling did tend to soak it in. When we moved here, I looked and looked for a house with hardwood floors, but back then carpeting was “in” and the wood was on the walls. I think it’s funny that in a few years the trend will probably go back, and someone will carpet over the floor and strip the paint off the walls!

      • That is an interesting trend. It makes me wonder why carpeting was ‘in’ back then. For my place, I prefer to have a mixture of floorboards and carpet, carpet ideally for the bedroom and floorboards elsewhere.

      • Be thankful you’re too young to remember the infamous “shag” carpet. I like wood or tile floors and the opportunity of putting some rugs on for extra color. All those wall-to-wall carpets seem hard to keep clean. I don’t know why they are popular from time to time… oh, one thought… they aren’t cleaner, but they may be easier to keep looking cleaner, since the dust doesn’t show up! (clearly I have a thing about dust)

      • Agree with you that wall-to-wall carpets aren’t cleaner. You can only go as far as steam cleaning them. You don’t know how deep the dirt goes and if it will ever come out. With rugs, they are replaceable.

        I googled shag carpets. They look so furry and look bad for allergy sufferers.

  3. It’s a beautiful transformation! When I was getting ready to sell, we finally painted over some wood that I had wanted to paint for 20 years, and everyone kept saying “Oh, it’s a sacrilege to paint over that beautiful wood!” Well, I finally did, and it was gorgeous, all creamy and white and bright! But the beneficiary is my new buyer, not me. 😦 I guess maybe that helped it sell, so I’m not too sad! Your room looks fantastic; I like your paint choice as well as the “re-styling!”

    • Thanks for the encouragement – your creamy white sounds beautiful. I have some of that same feeling for wood, but this was not anything special so I got over it. I suppose someday the pendulum will swing back from painting everything in sight (like brick exterior — one by one the brick houses in the neighborhood are being painted. Even I am starting to think it looks good, and I wanted a brick house so I wouldn’t have to paint). Then everyone will strip and stain, like we did in the 70s with the things our grandmothers’ painted over.

  4. Major transformation. I was a little sad watching the enclosure in the photo be covered – I love original handiwork. I do love the brightness of the room now as well. The color is very cheerful. Nice work!

    • I still do a double-take when I come through what was the bar area and is now a little pantry (or something). I know the bar was considered “dated” but I didn’t mind it. I’m happy with the paint though, and thanks for the nice compliment.

Leave a Reply

