Keeping Keys, and the Weekly Photo Challenge: Collage

This challenge calls for a collection “found in the wild or assembled ourselves.” You could almost say I found this group of keys in the wild, since I found them when clearing out my house and it got a little wild around here, disorganization-wise. Every time I unpacked something and found a key, I added it to the box.

Most of these keys were Bob’s but a few were his father’s. I see Bob’s Celica key, and I’ll bet those Volkswagon keys were for all the beloved Karman Ghias that came before. I like the tiny key in the yellow box. It would be perfect for a charm bracelet.

Bob's keys

Bob’s keys — a multi-year collection. 

I have my own father’s key ring too. He used to hang it on a pocket of his over-alls. Growing up, I saw it on the corner of my parents’ dresser every night.

My father's Key ring

My father’s key ring

They’re old keys now, and some quite beautiful. There’s something so personal about keys, and just a sight of the key ring of a beloved parent or partner somehow slices away the years and brings the person closer.

I keep my own keys too — do you keep yours?

More on the Weekly Photo Challenge: Collage

9 thoughts on “Keeping Keys, and the Weekly Photo Challenge: Collage

  1. Pingback: Collage Terminal | What's (in) the picture?

  2. Thank you for sharing your key collection. It is great to keep keys. They hold memories. Our family has always kept keys. We have a collection of antique ones that go back several generations. Some are large cast iron keys and we also have some old padlocks and brass locks. I used several old brass keys to make a wind chime and hung it in a tree and they make a lovely tinkling sound.

  3. It is interesting to hear you keep your keys and see them as a kind of memory, something like a historical artifact. I don’t have many keys, usually a house key or a car key and that’s about it. But I think there’s a lot of truth in what you say. We need keys every day, and they are so important in our lives and a lot of the time, we don’t give too much thought about them until they go missing.

    • You are absolutely right about how they go missing – sometimes I feel like getting one of those alarms to attach to them, so they beep when I signal. I wonder if they are disappearing in another way, and soon to be replaced by codes or cards.

  4. I did keep keys for many decades – some from my old childhood “treasure chests,” old cars, old houses, neighbors, etc. In my fit of purging pre-home sale and move, I pitched them all. Your post is making me feel worse* about this in many ways , but I’m going to steel myself and say it was necessary! For me, at least. I’m a very sentimental person, but I also crave order and simplicity, so I try to let things go and not look back. Most of the time it works.

    * Don’t take that as a criticism! I just meant I hadn’t thought about all the meaning behind my keys until you mentioned it.

    • I try to rationalize keeping things that are both meaningful and SMALL. Keys, some jewelry pieces that were gifts or that I bought when traveling. But even those things add up, and I understand (and admire!) the need to cut down on extra baggage.

Leave a Reply

